41 Day 39 – River Deep Mountain High

Well another day older and most definately wiser for having spent today out in the Lakeland countryside. It turned out to be quite the eventful day but yet again the sun shone and it was a perfect Spring day. So having fuelled up on a Cumbrian breakfast I was ready for anything, my hosts had recommended several places and as always I squeezed them all in, difficult when there are only about 8 or 9 hours of daylight! My first challenge was to drive over HardKnott Pass, initially I thought it seemed quite straightforward but 5 mins in I soon realised why many drivers choose the long way round! Google it and see for yourself! Half way over the pass there is a Roman fort site and I managed to lose an hour and a half here alone! Continuing down the pass (carefully!) I headed to the village of Wasdale and the stunning setting for Wast Water, the deepest of the Lakes and most dramatic to say the least. Having then got the car stuck in mud (yeap!) and climbing half way up Scafell Pike (it was too late to continue any further) oh and then getting lost over the fells on the way home I treated myself to a fish and chip supper, unfortunately I now have over 650 images on my card and still no card reader! Im back home late tomorrow and so all being well the next few days will make up for the lack of images!!! (just how I choose the ones to use is going to be an issue!!). I will sleep well tonight…..

Leave a Reply

