41 Day 87 – Meet the Ancestors

Now I cant claim any credit for the image contained in my post today but I have to say that I would love to have seen a photo of the photographer at work as it must have been a real show! Firstly let me introduce you to my relatives, the gentleman with the flat cap stood on the right is my maternal Great Grandfather Henry Band with my Great Grandmother Nancy seated centre, the young man on the left is my Grandfather George and the girl sat at the front on the floor is Georges sister and my Great Aunt Floss. This image only came to light a couple of years ago when my Grandmother passed away, my Grandfather having passed away in 1977 but as soon as I saw it I wanted a copy. The curious thing about the image is that it has been taken in the orchard at my Great Grandparents house in Alfrick in Worcestershire circa 1915, an unusual location for a portrait sitting! My Great Grandfather was head gardener for Lulsley Court and his attire probably reflects his Sunday best! I have to say that I adore this image as it brings my relatives lives right into my living room and I have spent a lot of time looking at the image as it says so much about the times they were living in. I wonder how much the portrait cost them, money was tight and although they were not poor  I guess this photo was a luxury!  Thats why I cherish it, because they invested so much into the portrait I now have a reminder of where I come from.

6 thoughts on “41 Day 87 – Meet the Ancestors

  1. What a part of history! Life was so simple and yet hard at the same time back then. It’s good to cherish the past and see where we’ve come from. Thank you for sharing a little part of your family history with us.

    • Thanks Richard, from what I have learnt from my Mum they did have a hard life and my Grandfather was already working at this point even though he was still just a boy. Hpoe to uncover more about them as I go along.

Leave a Reply

