41 Day 89 – Beautiful Bokeh

Now, Im guessing most of you know what Bokeh is. For those that dont then join the club! The first time I came across it was when I was asked to look at an image and see if I could spot something magical…..hmmm…..some time later I still couldnt work out what it was that I was suppossed to be looking at! So, I searched the internet for enlightenment, and found to my great pleasure that I was already taking photos with Bokeh in them! Apparently though there is good bokeh and bad bokeh…..Im not sure where mine falls into but like I have said before photography is so personal so if you like it then keep it. Quote ”Sometimes bokeh is misleadingly defined as “the way the lens renders out-of-focus points of light”since it is the characteristic of the image, not the lens itself. However, differences in lens and aperture shape cause somelens designs to blur the image in a way that is pleasing to the eye, while others produce blurring that is unpleasant or distracting—”good” and “bad” bokeh, respectively. Bokeh occurs for parts of the scene that lie outside the depth of field. Photographers sometimes deliberately use a shallow focus technique to create images with prominent out-of-focus regions.”

Leave a Reply

