41 Day 259 – My First Front Cover!!!

Last year I visited Burghley Horse Trials, a three day event covering dressage, cross country and show jumping. Horse and rider are expected to compete in all three disciplines over the three days, a pretty gruelling challenge by any standards and the Burghley cross country course is renowned for being on of the toughest alongside Badminton horse trials. Set in the stunning grounds of Burghley House in Stamfod Lincolnshire we visited on the day of the cross country competition, 33 fences ranging from the sublime to the scary, the course is timed to be completed in just under 12 minutes……that’s all? I hear you say, but riders must judge the fitness of their horse (and themselves) and pace themselves accordingly to avoid tiredness and a fall. Towards the end of the course lies an avenue of trees named as Winners Avenue, with fence 22 ahead of you, here the horse and rider can gauge just what is left in the tank as they negociate the fence, check the watch and allow the horse to gallop on towards the finish. It was at this fence that I took a photograph that is now the May edition of Central Horse news cover shot! Never in a million years did I ever think that one of my photos would grace the cover of a magazine! But there it is, the rider Joy Dawes smiling and enjoying every second of her ride, her horse Finnisterre hooves mid air light as a feather, riding for their lives towards the finish and the celebration of completing the infamous course safely! Thank you to Central Horse News for choosing my image!

12 thoughts on “41 Day 259 – My First Front Cover!!!

  1. A really huge congrats Lucy on getting the front cover and what a terrific shot, I do hope there was some kind of remuneration for your work, as too often magazines think they own the photograph once they have published it. Once again I am really chuffed for you as it is well deserved. I hope you have a wonderful weekend. Best regards, James

    • Hi James, Thank you so much for your message, I found out a while ago but its another thing when you see it for real! Sadly no renumeration for it, just the glory! Hope youre having this wonderful spell of weather? I have been off all week and it is just lovely! Take care!

      • The glory is great as well and I am sure that you have bought several copies. I have done this when I have seen my work in print as it always a great feather in the cap. I hope you have been enjoying the weather during your week off . Have a great bank holiday! Best regards, james

Leave a Reply

