41 Day 270 – In The Presence of Greatness

How often do you stand still and take a good look around you? Maybe not on your way to the office, probably never on your way to the supermarket, definitely not whilst driving your car! But just sometimes you are stopped dead in your tracks, time grabs you by the arm and holds you still, just long enough for you to really open your eyes and absorb what lies in front of you. For some it could mean the second you recognise someone you haven’t seen in years, or the moment you see your newborn baby for the first time, or the terrible scene after traffic accident. But for me that moment came when I first visited the Lakes and drove high into the fells, stepping out of the car and across the meadows, beckoned to the scene like a bee drawn to the flower, moving forward towards it yet feeling like my feet were not in touch with the ground….until you are rooted to the spot, in awe at the scenery that inspires you yet intimidates you at the same time. That is when time stops for me, my eyes drink in the beauty and the mundane disappears, my achievements and struggles insignificant, my life fleeting, I am humbled in the presence of greatness….

The tree of a hundred years stands small against the greatness of the everlasting fells and I am insignificant compared to both.......

The tree of a hundred years stands small against the greatness of the everlasting fells and I am insignificant compared to both…….

8 thoughts on “41 Day 270 – In The Presence of Greatness

  1. Hey Lucy
    Firstly thanks for following my blog Walky Talky. It’s led me to your site and I really like your photos. We clearly share a love of the Lakes. I’m lucky in that my folks live here. I never have lived here myself, but whenever I have to leave I always feel like I’m leaving my true home. Hope you get back there soon 😉

    • Hi Julie and many thanks foe stopping to comment and for following, indeed the Lakes are like a home for my soul! I feel so refreshed when I’m there, and always dread the journey home! You are so lucky to have relatives that live there, my dream is to retire there one day…..Im working on it!

  2. Stunning and awe inspiring, I adore being surrounded by magnificence like this….the photo is amazing and I love your words, you had me thinking of the feeling I get when we arrive in Plockton and I run out into the croft field drinking up the silence and the green earth 🙂

    • What a lovely comment, thank you! This is what is so wonderful about photography and sharing images on a blog, the fact that you have recalled a memory, thats what photos do, take you back to a happy memory! Im so pleased you enjoyed it! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

